Fresh Basil Cubes ~ Quick!

It’s that time of year where my basil bush is ready to come out of the planter so I can put something else in its place.  This time, I decided I was not only going to dehydrate some of it for dried flakes but, I finally got around to making fresh basil cubes!

img_4487

Of course I pulled all the remaining leaves off my basil plants.  I washed the leaves and let them sit in a bowl of water for a bit just to ensure all the dirt came off.  Half of the leaves went into my dehydrator at about 95 degrees for an entire day.  Long process.  Here’s a quicker way to store basil, I think you’re going to love!

First, once you’ve washed the basil, throw it in a food processor.  Turn it on and slowly add olive oil.  Just enough to get it slightly thick but fluid.

img_4491

It’s not pretty but, it sure smells great!  I added just a touch of salt as well to this mix.

**Chef note here:  You can also add pine nuts and a bit of lemon juice to make pesto cubes!  I chose to do straight basil since I never know what I’m going to use it for.

Now, take an ice cube tray and fill it with your basil mixture.  Leave a small amount of space at the top.

img_4492

The photo above shows about how much space to leave and what it looks like.  Next, top off your cube sections with a touch of olive oil in each one.

img_4493

Bam!  Ready for the freezer!  It is THAT SIMPLE!  Once your cubes are frozen you can release them from the tray and keep them in a resealable bag.

img_4497

I used about 4 C. fresh basil and ended up with about a gallon size storage bag full of cubes.  Last night, I made homemade spaghetti and dropped one of these bad boys in my sauce.  It’s divine, it’s simple, and I now prefer the cubes over the dried!  The flavor is still just as strong as fresh.  Why haven’t I done this before?

Leave a Reply

